Munsusanseong Fortress was built on Munsusan Mountain in 1694, during the 20th year of the reign of King Sukjong, the 19th king of the Joseon dynasty. The fortress as designed to defend Gwanghwado Island from marine invasion. At the time, the fortress had north, west, and south gates, but they were destroyed in a fire during the Byeong-in Yangyo (1866). The north gate was restoryed in 1995 and the south gate in 2002. The fortress walls span 6 kilometers in length, 4 kilometers of which remain unrestored. Surrounded by beautiful scenery, the top of the fortress commands a spectacular view spanning from North Korea to the Hangang River inlet, and from Samgaksan Mountain to the sea off Incheon in the distance. It is often referred to as the Geumgangsan Mountain of Gimpo as it boasts superb scenery throughout all four seasons. The mountain is home to Munsusa Temple, established during the reign of Silla King Jinseong.