Gyeonghuigung is one of the five royal palaces in Seoul. It is the westernmost palace in the city. The palace was originally constructed in the 1600s under King Gwanghaegun’s reign (15th king of Joseon). Gyeonghuigung was used as a secondary palace where the royal family would be moved during emergencies such as attempted coups and rebellions.
In 1760 the palace’s name was changed to its current name – Gyeonghuigung. It then served as the royal residence of the king from King Injo until King Cheoljong’s rule. However, two fires occurred at the residence in the 19th century destroying much of the palace. What remained was completely dismantled during the Japanese occupation. During Japanese occupation, the site was used as a school for Japanese citizens residing in Seoul.
Once Japan no longer occupied the Korean peninsula the government began reconstructing the royal residence. The reconstructed palace is now only 33 percent of the size it originally was, as the city had grown up around the former site during the occupation.
Leave a Reply